A Poem In Honour Of My Birthday

Today I’m forty-nine years old,
And I’ve achieved a lot,
I’ve been a teacher for decades –
A career as a nerdy swot.
I’ve loved and lost and laughed and cried,
And had some fun along the way,
And I’ve learned that faith and loyalty
Beat popularity, any day.
I’ve sung and acted on the stage,
As a director, I’ve shown my worth;
I love to entertain my friends
With both sarcasm and mirth.
I’ve had my poetry published,
It’s nice to be in print!
It’s just a shame that famous writers
Are generally fairly skint.
I’m proud to be Australian,
And I’ve adopted Canada, too:
If I could live in both places
That’s absolutely what I’d do.
So today I’m going to smile again
I’m prepared to take my place
As the birthday queen of June Sixteen,
Exuding style and charm and grace.
So unleash all the birthday love,
And send it all my way,
I’m more than ready to indulge
In my celebration day.
PS: Come to my book launch tonight,
It should be really great,
You can buy a copy for twenty bucks
And I’ll sign it as your mate.
2 thoughts on “A Poem In Honour Of My Birthday

Leave a Reply

